Skip to main content

The 2019 Golden Owl Awards Vancouver Panelists have been released!

Chris Bjerrisgaard

Vancouver Island Brewing / VCBW

Christine Van

Red Bull Canada

Dave Brown

Southern Glazers


Radio DJ

Ivan Lee

Formerly Blueprint

Jason Sulyma


Jay Wallace

Safe and Sound

Jeffrey Norgen

Twin Sails Brewing

Jonathan Chovancek

Bittered Sling

Jordan Innes

Red Bull Canada

Josh Boettcher

Josh Boettcher Eats

Lauren Mote

Bittered Sling

Leah Heneghan


Mark Rasta

Spotlight Concerts / Harbour Event Centre

Mathieu Poirier

Matter of Beer

Nick Black

Strange Fellows Brewing

Pedro Serra

Soulgood / Joseph Richard Group

Riaz Khan

Blueprint & LCU

Richard Wolak

Founder, Vanfoodster

Robyn Gray

Georgia Hotel / Reflections

Steve Geszler

Fox Cabaret

The Food Gays

Trevor Kallies

Donnelly Group

Tyson Villeneuve

Partner, Social Concierge

West Rosa

West Rosa Food Blog

William Stewart

Northwood Radio / Big Sleeps

How does voting work?

The Golden Owl Hospitality Awards winners are voted on by both public and industry panel voters. Public voters represent a 40% weighting and the industry panel has as 60% weighting in the final result. Industry Panelists are not allowed to vote in any categories that are in a conflict of interest with the nominees. For example, anyone from “Donnelly Group” can’t vote for any of their venues and “Blueprint” can’t vote for their nominees. After twelve years of running this awards show, we have found that this formula brings the most accurate results to what most people feel should be the winners.

Why do you need a panel?

The industry panel was first brought in for our 2012 show and we felt it was needed to curb the “popularity” vote feel of a public only vote. Having 60% of weight on the panel we feel curbs the ability to campaign to win and feel it almost discourages it. We’d like nominees to focus on being the best at their job rather than campaigning for votes.